New Seven Wonders of the World announced

Since the days of early travel advertising and marketing, the world has always had Seven Ancient Wonders, which perpetuated the fame of particular countries across the known and unknown world. Since then, we've had more contemporary sites nominated as wonders - due, in part to some of the ancient ones no longer existing - and just this month, an online poll decided which should now be the new Seven Wonders of the World.

At an event in Lisbon, which was attended by Hollywood actress Hilary Swank, singer Jennifer Lopez and tenor Jose Carreras, the new wonders were announced. The decision to decide this latest list of seven sites has however drawn criticism from certain quarters, including UNESCO (the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organisation).

Amongst the nominations was the Great Pyramid at Giza (originally an Ancient Wonder of the World and the last still standing), the Eiffel Tower and the Moai statues of Easter Island.

The new Seven Wonders in full are:

Chichén Itzá, Mexico

Christ the Redeemer, Brazil

The Great Wall, China

Machu Picchu, Peru

Petra, Jordan

The Roman Colosseum, Italy

The Taj Mahal, India

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2020